District Planning Section

Address: New Collectorate Building, 4th Floor, Office of the District Magistrate & Collector, Howrah 711101

Contact: Department: 033-26414917; District Planning Officer: 033-26414918

About the department: Planning Section of the District is vital for all development works. The schemes of MPs and MLAs are implemented through this department.

Structure of the department: The Department is headed by the District Planning Officer. There are officials in the rank of Economist-cum-Credit Planner and Sub Assistant Engineer (Block Plan). Besides, there are clerical and technical staff. There is also a set up of NRDMS (Natural Resources Database Management System) Centre which handles all spatial and non-spatial data of the district.

Schemes under that department: The Department deals with the implementation of MPLADS & BEUP Schemes. There are two Lok Sabha MPs; 25-Howrah & 26-Uluberia. There are 16 MLAs whose schemes are also taken care of by this department. The Annual District Plans are prepared. Besides this department is also entrusted with the collection and compilation of various reports of the State Government in coordination with lateral departments. Preparation of all kinds of administrative reports as and when asked for by the Higher Authority.

About the schemes: Each Member of Parliament gets an annual grant of Rupees Five Crores from the Central Government while each MLA gets Rupees Sixty Lakhs from the State Government. The fund is to be utilized for the implementation of developmental works in their local areas.

Useful links: