Educational Institutes

IIEST Shibpur

Bengal Engineering and Science University (BESU) (established in 1856) is the second oldest engineering institution in India. It is a prestigious university in West Bengal. The university was ranked 10th among all engineering institutes in India by the magazine "India Today" in 2005. BESU is set to upgrade to be India's first Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology(IIEST).

Ramakrishna Mission Vidyamandira is an autonomous degree college affiliated to University of Calcutta. It is one of the best institution in West Bengal.

There are other degree colleges such as Bijoy Krishna Girls’ College or Howrah Girl's College and Narasinha Dutt College. MCKV Institute of Engineering is a private engineering college affiliated to theWest Bengal University of Technology.

Howrah's schools are either run state government or by private institutions. The medium of instruction is Bengali, English or Hindi. Schools are affiliated to the West Bengal Board of Secondary Education, the Indian Certificate of Secondary Education (ICSE) and National Institute of Open Schooling (NIOS).

Howrah Zilla School is one of the best school in Howrah with all its standards. The school was established in the year 1845 and it is the oldest school in Howrah. A high standard of studies and good rankings in both Xth & XIIth standard at state level makes it a premium school in West Bengal. Almost every year a student of this school found to be one of the toppers in Madhyamik or Higher Secondary. The school received numerous awards for its achievements. Scholars like Soumitra Chatterjee, Subrata Mukherjee, Sudip Chatterjee, Dr. Shital Ghosh, Dr. Asit Senapati, Bhudev Mukhopadhyay, Alapan Bandyopadhyay, Sourashish Lahiri etc. Consecutive seven years the school received the "Sera Vidyalaya" award from government. The school won Subrata Cup in the year 2000.

Don Bosco Liluah (established in 1937) is located in the northern part of the town. With a rich heritage of excellent academic results, extra-curricular performances of quality, sporting achievements among others, the school has been awarded The Telegraph Best School Award, numerous times, and is among only four schools to have been inducted into the Hall of Fame. There is a Kendriya Vidyalaya in Santragachi.

Tara Sundari Balika Bidalya is one of the best girls school in the town. The institution has graduated many doctors, engineers and notable women settled throughout India and abroad.

St. Agnes' Convent School is regarded as one of the best convent girls school in Howrah. It is run by the sisters of the congregation of the Daughters of the Cross.

St. Aloysius' Orphanage & Day School is one of the oldest schools in Howrah. Jagacha High School, Bantra Public Library Siksha Niketan Boys High School, Salkia Vikram Vidyalaya, Vikram Vidyalaya (Branch), Asian International School, St. Agnes' Convent School, Agrasain Balika Siksha Sadan, M.C. Kejriwal Vidyapeeth, B.E. College Model School,Kethenath Institution, Howrah Vivekananda Institution, etc. are other notable higher secondary schools.

Howrah district also have another important crown in the field of education in Bengal. Al-Ameen Mission known for its educational revolution among backward Bengali minorities has its main branch and headquarters in Khalatpur,Udaynaraynapur in rural north Howrah. Al-Ameen Mission too has The Telegraph Best School Award to its credit.

*Source: '' & 'Tourism Department, Howrah'