Name of the Officer-in-Charge Sri Aranya Banerjee, WBCS(Exe)
Aims Administrative & fiscal decentralization and devolution of power to Panchayats and development through decentralized planning alongwith mobilization of resources.
Objective & Nature of work

a) To deliver better services to the rural population by implementing all rural development programmes including those towards alleviation of poverty and providing social security.

  1. b) To make arrangement for training of the elected members of GP & PS Pradhans , Upa- Pradhans , Secretaries and Job- Assistants , Nirman Sahayak, etc.
  2. c) To make arrangement for appointment of Executive Assistant,Secretary, Nirman Sahayak, Sahayak & Karmees of Gram Panchayat , Gram Sevika, Panchayat Clerk and Panchayat Peon, Data Entry Operator, Block Informatic Officer, A/C clerk, LDC, PS Peon, etc.of Panchayat Samiti.
  3. d)To Sub-allot funds to the B.D.O.s for the Block Estt. (Panchayat Section) and for G.P. s and Panchayat Samitis.
  4. e) To monitor different programmes of Panchayat Department and obtaining different report returns
  5. f) Annual & Internal Audit of G.P.s, Annual Return of SC/ST/OBC, PROFLAL, NSAP and also other works related to this department, Gram Sabha & Gram Sansad meeting.
  6. g)Monitoring the demand & collection of Tax in G.P.s, Non Tax revenue of Panchayat Samitis.
  7. h) Three tier Panchayat Election.

Acts & Rules dealt with :

WB Panchayat Act’1973, WB Panchayat (Constitution) Rules’1975, WB Panchayat (GP Administration) Rules’2004, WB Panchayat (Panchayat Samiti Administration) Rules’2008, WB Panchayat (GP Accounts, Audit & Budget) Rules’2007, WB Panchayat (Zilla Parishad & Panchayat Samiti Accounts & Finance) Rules’2003, WB Panchayat (Recruitment of Employees of Panchayat Samiti) Rules’2007, WB Panchayat (Recruitment of Employees of Gram Panchayat) Rules’2007,WBSR-Part I & II,WB Treasury Rules’2005, Classification, Control & Appeal Rules.
Related Committees
  • 1.   District Level Selection Committee
    2.   District Development Co-Ordination & Monitoring Committee (DISHA).

Administrative Structure (HR) of the Section